Program messaging channel: Push notification

Contents

Using the push notification node in a program
Viewing usage statistics for a push notification profile
Deleting or disabling a push notification profile

Summary

A push notification is a message that you send to your app users from the push notification node in the program builder.

When users receive a push notification, they see the message regardless of whether they are using the app at the time. As a result, you can be sure that your messages aren't lost in a spam filter, or buried in an inbox, increasing engagement.

Before you can use the push notification node, your app developer needs to create a push notification profile and add some code to your app.

After your app developers have set up push notifications, you'll be able to automate push notifications by dragging and dropping a push notification node into the canvas of the program builder. For example, you could do any of the following:

  • Use push notification to send a welcome message to your contacts
  • Use push notifications with the abandoned cart module to send your contacts reminders about their abandoned carts
  • Use push notifications with dotmailer for Magento to send your contacts a confirmation of their order

Push_notification_Android.pngPush_notification_iOS.png

Please note: On iOS devices, titles are displayed only in the Notification Center, which is accessed by swiping down from the top of the screen.

Using the push notification node in a program

  1.  In the program builder, drag and drop a push notification node onto the canvas
  2. Write a title and a message to be displayed in the push notification. A maximum of 160 characters can be displayed in a push notification message and title. Extra characters are replaced by an ellipsis.

Want to use emojis in your message?

To insert emojis into your message, copy and paste them from a website such as Emoji Keyboard 😎.

 Program_builder_push_notification_node_configuration.png

3. Click Preview to review your message

Viewing usage statistics for a push notification profile

Usage statistics display reports for your push notification profile.

  1. From your account settings, go to Channel management Push Notification
  2. Click the name of your profile to open the profile page

This page displays the total number of message sends that have been attempted from this profile in the last seven days. If any messages were not sent, this page displays the error and the reason for the error.

Channel_management_push_notification_profile.png

Viewing more details about a statistic

Click the link under 'Pushes attempted in the last 7 days'. This link opens a page, which displays the following information:

  • The date the message send was attempted
  • The number of message sends that were attempted
  • The number of messages that were sent
  • The number of contacts that were not sent a message and the reason for it

You can filter the details by warnings, push message sends that were attempted, and push messages that were sent. You can also filter the details by date.

Please note: When a push message send is attempted, the message is added to a queue, which is managed by either Apple (APNS) or Google (FCM), depending on your app.

When a message leaves the queue, the message is sent to your contacts' devices.

There is no way to find out if a push message was delivered.

Viewing which contacts were sent messages, which contacts were delivered messages, and which contacts were not sent messages

Click the number under the 'Pushes attempted to send' column, the 'Pushes sent' column, or the 'Warning message' column.

Deleting or disabling a push notification profile

 Please note (before deleting or disabling a profile)

  • You can't delete or disable a profile that's in use in an active program
  • Deleting a profile deletes all usage statistics for that profile
  • Disabling a profile stops users from selecting the profile in a push notification node until you enable the profile again

To delete a push notification profile:

  1. From your account settings, go to Channel management > Push Notification
  2. Select the checkbox next to the name of the profile
  3. Click Delete

To disable a push notification profile:

  1. From your account settings, go to Channel management > Push Notification
  2. Click the name of the profile
  3. Select Disabled next to the 'Status' field
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments