Sharing suppression lists between accounts

Summary

You can share suppression lists between accounts within a team.

This is useful if you use secondary accounts (those belonging to a top level account) to manage campaign segregation, but don't want to run the risk of emailing a suppressed contact in one account from another. For example, you may want to do this if you have secondary accounts for each of your offices - so when a contact unsubscribes from one office, another office won't be able to inadvertently contact them again. 

Please note

  • Shared suppression lists are only available on accounts in the UK/EU region (those with the application domain prefixed with 'r1'.)
  • Suppressions get shared across all accounts that are opted into the shared suppression feature by the top account, including the top account if they've opted in. For instance, if secondary accounts A, B, C and D are all opted in, then A's suppressions will get shared with B, C and D, and B's suppressions will get shared with A, C and D, and so on. 

Steps to set up shared suppressions

To share suppressions between accounts:

  1. Log into your top account, and go to Contacts > Suppressed Contacts > Shared lists
  2. From the accounts listed, tick to opt an account into sharing suppressions. Leave accounts unselected (thus not opted in) if you wish them to maintain their own suppression lists.
  3. Click Update

    suppressions_shared_lists_tab.png

Any suppressions associated with the selected accounts will get moved into one suppression list, and will be shared across all accounts that are opted in. Subsequent new suppressions, and removed suppressions, will also get automatically reflected across all accounts sharing the list.

Suppression list synchronisations aren't instant and take place daily across accounts, so allow up to 24 hours for your list to become fully shared.

You can change the accounts that are using the shared list at any time, by returning to 'Shared lists' tab and updating it.

Once the list is fully shared amongst your selected accounts, the 'Bounce threshold' options will become unavailable for the included secondary accounts. Instead, the bounce thresholds will be controlled by the top account (even if the parent account is not opted into the shared suppression list).

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments