How to process a Right to be Forgotten request

Contents

Steps to process a Right to be Forgotten Request
   » 'Contact' data
   » 'Surveys and forms' data
   » 'SMS' data
   » 'Transactional email' data

Summary

Under the GDPR, contacts can ask for all the data you store on them to be deleted - which is known as a Right to be Forgotten request. The platform gives you the tools to ensure you can comply with this request. 

Steps to process a Right to be Forgotten request

To delete the data you hold on a contact, follow these steps for these four areas of the platform (should you hold data on your contact in all of these areas):

'Contact' data

  1. Go to Contacts, find the contact in question and click on them to access the 'Manage contact' page
  2. Click on Contact actions in the top right and select Delete this contact
  3. Before committing the action by clicking Delete, you'll be asked to confirm that you understand that: 
    • Deleted contacts will be removed from the address books they're currently in
    • Undeleting contacts will not put them back in the address books they were in (they will only get added back to 'All contacts')
    • Deleted contacts are not unsubscribed, and that if they are re-added to your account they may receive campaigns. (If contacts do not want to receive campaigns, you should unsubscribe them instead.)

Clicking Delete will move the contact to the recycle bin for 30 days. After 30 days, all their information held in contact data fields and Insight data will be permanently removed.

Only admin users have access to the recycle bin. Navigate to it by clicking on the person-and-cog icon in the bottom left corner of the app and select Recycle bin.

From here you can either permanently remove selected items or empty the entire recycle bin (enabling you to delete contacts before the 30 days are up), and, should you need to, you also have the option to recover (undelete) contacts that are in there. This can be done by either recovering all contacts via More actions > Recover all, or by making a selection (up to a maximum of 150) and clicking Recover.

recycle_bin_example.png

'Surveys and forms' data

You may hold data on a contact in a survey or form too, and this will need to be separately deleted to fully comply with their request. To do so, follow these steps (which you may need to repeat for all of your surveys to find out which ones your contact has responded to):

  1. Go to Surveys & forms and click on the Reports icon next to a survey
  2. In the 'Survey report' page, click on the Responses tab
  3. Click on the dropdown next to the search box and select Include complete and partial responses to ensure you get all data submitted
  4. In the 'Search box', type in your contact's name or email address (whatever serves best to identify them). If results get returned, then you know you need to export the survey's results. If no results are returned, then you can move onto the next survey and search that.
  5. Click on the red cross to the far right of any results returned for the contact. Click Yes, delete this respondent on the warning that asks you if you wish to continue. 

This will delete all of the data held in a single survey for the contact. As mentioned above, you'll need to repeat the above steps for all of your surveys that have any responses.

'SMS' data

You may also hold data on a contact in the SMS tool, and this will also need to be separately deleted to fully comply with their request.

To do this, follow these steps:

  1. Go to SMS, click on Contacts, search for the mobile number belonging to the contact in question and select them
  2. Click Delete. Click OK when asked to confirm the deletion. 

This will delete all of the data held in this area of the platform for the contact.

'Transactional email' data

Finally, you may also hold the email address of a contact in the transactional email tool, and this will also need to be separately deleted to fully comply with their request.

To do this, follow these steps:

  1. Go to Transactional email and search for the contact's email address at the foot of the dashboard. Do this for both 'Show successes only' and 'Show failures', to make sure you find any record of the email address. If no results are returned for either filter, then there's no data to delete for this contact.
  2. If results are returned, select all of the sends and then click Delete  

This will delete all of the data held in this area of the platform for the contact.

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments