Changing the owner of your account

Summary

Every account has an owner, and zero or more users. The owner has overall admin rights, and you can only have one owner per account.

You can transfer the account owner - for example, they may be changing role - to another user.

Please remember - once done, the previous owner of the account will lose access to the key administration areas. 

Transferring account ownership

You can only transfer account ownership to an existing user. If the owner-to-be isn't yet a user, you can add them by following the steps in Adding a user.

Assuming you're the top account owner

  1. Go to the settings menu (accessed by mousing over the person-and-cog icon in the bottom left corner of the application) and select Your team
  2. In the 'Accounts' tab, tick the checkbox next to the account owner you'd like to transfer ownership from
  3. Click on More actions and select Change account owner
  4. A window will appear confirming the account you're transferring ownership from. From the dropdown, choose the user you wish to transfer ownership to. Enter your password and click Transfer ownership now to confirm.

We will email both you and the new account owner confirming the changes.

Assuming you're an account owner belonging to a top account owner

  1. Go to the settings menu (accessed by mousing over the person-and-cog icon in the bottom left corner of the application) and select Access
  2. In the 'Access' tab, tick the checkbox next to the user you'd like to transfer ownership to
  3. Click on More actions and select Make account holder
  4. A window will appear confirming the account you're transferring ownership from, and user you're transferring it to. Enter your password and click Transfer ownership now to confirm.

We will email both you and the new account owner confirming the changes.

Assuming you're not an account owner

You may not be the account owner, however, but it's still the case that you need to change the account's owner because they've left your organisation, for instance.

Assuming you don't know the password for the account, you can trigger the password reset email by clicking on the reset link on the login page. Enter the account owner's email address in the window that appears and click Continue. We'll then send the password reset email to the account owner's inbox, which you'll need to be able to access.

Therefore, we advise speaking to your IT team about this so you can open the password reset email we send. This could be by accessing the mailbox itself (if it's still active), or by adding the email address of the current account holder as a secondary SMTP address to another active account. In doing this, all emails we send while the process is completed will be accessible.

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk