Suppressing email addresses

Last reviewed/updated 17 September 2015.


Suppressed contacts
Suppressed domains
Adding suppressions
Suppression history and reversing
Adding suppressions to a specific
address book only
» Removing suppressions from a specific
address book

Select Contacts > Suppressed contacts. The next screen features five tabs:


Suppressed contacts

The Suppressed contacts tab displays a list of all your contacts who have unsubscribed from your communications, plus those who have been automatically unsubscribed by hard bouncing once, reaching their soft bounces limit or registering as an ISP spam complainant.

You can manually add a contact to this list by clicking on New contact suppression button. See the Adding suppressions section below for further detail.

Suppressed domains

The Suppressed domains tab displays a list of all domains that have been suppressed. By adding suppression at a domain level, all email addresses in your address books for that domain are automatically suppressed. This saves you a lot of time when a company asks to be removed as a whole from your lists.

To add a new domain to this list, click on the New domain suppression button. See the Adding suppressions section below for further detail.

Adding suppressions

You can add suppressions via the New contact suppression and New domain suppression buttons. These enable you to upload or manually add any email or domain addresses you would NOT like included in your campaign sends.

If you would like to suppress contacts from a specific address book, please see Adding suppressions to a specific address book only section below for further detail.


File removal - if you have a lot of email addresses and/or domains to suppress, you may prefer to do this via upload of a CSV, TXT, Excel or ZIP file. Use the Choose File button to select the file on your computer.

You can enter an email address to be notified once the import has finished – this is particularly useful if you are uploading a large list. Once you have entered your addresses or selected your file, click on Suppress these contacts from my account. Your entries are processed and a summary report is displayed.

add_suppression_manually.pngManually - use this tab to enter email addresses or domains individually.

Simply type the email address into the area provided ensuring you enter only one email address per line as shown in the example. When satisfied, click Suppress. Each of these email addresses will be added to your suppressed contacts list and excluded from any future email sends.

If you wish to suppress all email addresses at one company then simply add the domain instead, as shown below:


Again, make sure there is only one entry per line. When ready, click Suppress.

Regardless of the method you choose, whether manually entering, pasting text or uploading a file, email addresses suppressed will appear on your Suppressed contacts tab.

Domains will appear on your Suppressed domains tab and any email addresses relating to those domains will appear on your Suppressed contacts tab.

Suppression history and reversing suppressions

The Suppression history tab shows only manually imported file suppressions created in the last 30 days. It does not show any manual suppressions you may have made via clicking on More actions when inside an address book.


You can delete imported file suppressions from this list. It will result in the contacts being deleted from the whole system, although a message will inform you of this consequence before you complete the deletion. You will then need to add any contacts back to the address book or books they were previously part of in order to restore them and thus reverse the suppression.

Adding suppressions to a specific address book only

You have the ability to upload or manually add any email addresses for suppression in a specific address book only. This has the advantage of not suppressing a contact or contacts across all of your account's address books, meaning they will be excluded from sends to that specific address book but will still able to receive campaigns sent to your other address books.

To do this, select Contacts > My contacts and then click on the Properties icon properties_icon3b.png. This will open the address book for editing and changing its settings.

Click on the Suppressions tab.


Select Suppressions. This tab will list all of the individual suppressions for this address book, if there are any.


Click New contact suppression to add your suppressions, either via a file or manually (just as detailed under Adding suppressions above).

Click Export and then Export all if you wish to export all of the address book's suppressions into a file.

Removing suppressions from a specific address book

To remove a suppressed contact or contacts from the address book, tick the contacts you wish to remove, click on More actions and then select Remove suppressions. You will then need to add the contact back to the address book if you want them to receive sends to this specific address book again.

Have more questions? Submit a request


  • Avatar
    Marten Hynard

    So, how do I reverse a suppression that was suppressed more than 30 days ago? I note that the 30 days cannot be extended to a longer period. After 30 days suppression does it become irretrievable?


    Further than that I have just suppressed a contact, and find the suppression history states:

    " The last 30 days of your imports are listed below.

    No imports found  "

    So ... what's going on here?


  • Avatar
    Tom Corbett

    Hi Marten

    You would need to get in-touch with your account manager to address any files over 30 days old and they are reviewed on a case by case basis after that period of time. The feature lists any suppression's made by CSV imports and not any manual suppression's made in app such as clicking more actions > suppress contact. 

  • Avatar
    Marten Hynard

    Thanks Tom. I read elsewhere ("Suppressing contacts") "Use suppressions to temporarily, or permanently, stop contacts from receiving your emails.." and I don't want to nit-pick but it does say above "The suppression history tab shows ALL suppressions created in the last 30 days.." (my caps). So I assumed I could suppress one single contact from receiving one particular campaign and reinstate the contact immediately after - simpler than creating a segmentation rule.

    May I suggest that the documentation be updated or, better, that the system allow what I was attempting?

  • Avatar
    Rizwana Qureshi

    if you are uploading csv files - these supress at the global level against the contacts list? when you send any campaign?

  • Avatar
    Ricoh (Cahir dev acc)

    If we wish to supress a recipient from multiple accounts, how is this achieved without having to go through each one individually?



  • Avatar
    Neal Goldsmith


    Suppressing recipients from multiple accounts is only currently possible via sharing suppression lists. However, this will result in sharing all of your parent account's suppressions with chosen child accounts, not just a single isolated suppression if this is what you’re specifically looking to achieve.

    If sharing all suppressions across your accounts does provide a solution in this instance, then you can do this by logging in as your parent account and going to Contacts > Suppressed contacts > Shared lists. Here you will find a list of all of your accounts. Select accounts to make them share your parent account's suppressions. Deselected accounts will continue to operate their own suppression lists. Once happy, click **UPDATE **and the suppressions will be shared across the selected accounts.

    Hope this helps.

  • Avatar
    Amir Chitayat

    I frequently am asked to describe the difference between a suppression and an unsubscribe. This comes up because these are both options in the contact's more actions list. Clients would like the best practice for removing people who have requested to come off their lists. Can you clarify so I can direct them on the best practice for removing people manually.

    Thanks, Rose

  • Avatar
    Neal Goldsmith

    Hi Rose,

    An unsubscribe is generally initiated by a contact, whereas a suppression tends not to be. Instead, suppressions happen after a hard bounce or an ISP complaint, for example.

    Note that unsubscribes can also be performed manually by yourself – but often that will also be at the request of a contact.

    If someone asks to be removed, best practice would be to unsubscribe them.

    Hope this helps.

  • Avatar
    Lisa (spaQ GC) Cloumassis

    I think there's a bug with address book suppressions. When copying contacts from a segment into an address book it adds contacts back in who are in the address book suppression list.