Our corporate account users can now share suppression lists between their parent and child accounts.
This is useful if you use child accounts to manage campaign segregation, but don't want to run the risk of emailing a suppressed contact in one account from another. For example: You may want to do this if you have child accounts for each of your offices, as when a contact unsubscribes from one office, another won't be able to inadvertently contact them again.
Note: Shared suppression lists are only available on accounts in the UK/EU region (those with the application domain prefixed with 'r1'.)
How to set up shared suppressions
Log in to your parent account, and go to Contacts > Suppressed Contacts > Shared lists
You will see a list of your child accounts. Select each account that you want to share suppressions between. Leave unselected accounts that should maintain their own suppression lists. Click Update.
Any suppressions associated with the selected accounts will get moved into one suppression list, shared between the accounts. Suppression list synchronisations are not instant and take place on a daily basis across accounts, so allow up to 24 hours for your list to become fully shared.
You can change the accounts that are using the shared list at any time, by revisiting this page.
Once the list is fully shared amongst your selected accounts, the 'Bounce threshold' options will become unavailable for the included child accounts. Instead, the bounce thresholds will be controlled by the parent account (even if the parent account is not part of the shared accounts).
How to view previous updates
If you need to view previous updates made on the shared suppression lists, click 'Update history'. This will show you the date the changes were made, and when the share was completed. It will also show you the total number of accounts currently in the share, how many suppressed contacts were shared and how many suppressed domains were shared.